Home / Awards / Service to the Profession Award

Service to the Profession Award

The Service to the Profession Award is given to individuals, community groups, clubs, schools or businesses who have contributed to the music profession in North Dakota.

2023 Recipient

Kathleen Johnson

The 2023 recipient of the Service to the Profession Award is Kathleen Johnson. Shown with Kathleen is Amy Mercer, Service to the Profession Chair.

kathleen johnson 2023 recipient

Service to the Profession

Membership in the NDMTA is not required to receive this award. The recipient of the Service to the Profession Award will be honored at the NDMTA Conference.

Criteria that may be considered when nominating an individual or entity includes the following:

  • Providing a service to NDMTA and/or its local associations
  • Evidence of support for the activities of NDMTA and its local associations
  • Effect on the music profession as a whole
  • Accomplishments/contributions to NDMTA or the musical community
  • Community involvement related to music
  • Teaching/professional achievement in music
  • General professional music activity
  • Promotion of music awareness
  • Professional achievement - similar to a lifetime achievement award in music
  • Evidence of the pursuit of personal excellence in music

Nomination forms will be sent to local NDMTA local associations in January. A nomination made by an individual member or a local association is to be accompanied by a letter of support. The award will be determined by an ad hoc committee of four appointed by the Service to the Profession Chair.

Past Recipients

Congratulations to all of the previous recipients of the Service to the Profession Award.

2015Pam OlsonGrand Forks
2016Beth KlingensteinBismarck
2017Scott's Music StoreGrand Forks
2018Dr. Robert GrovesFargo
2020Dr. Nariaki SugiuraGrand Forks
2022Don LangleyGrand Forks
2023Kathleen JohnsonLangdon

Teacher of the Year Recipients

The NDMTA no longer participates in the Teacher of the Year award. We recognize those that have been honored in the past, from 1994-2013.

1994Sharon WesbrookHillsboro
1995Eloise HalversonWilliston
1996Dr. Diana SkrochValley City
1997Dr. Beth Gigante KlingensteinValley City
1998Dr. Jane SoloseGrand Forks
1999Dianne HardyDickinson
2000Elizabeth RheudeGrand Forks
2001Eileen Geske*Verona
2002Carole FlatauValley City
2003Sara BloomGrand Forks
2004Sara HagenValley City
2005Linda Hanson-BellLarimore
2006Corinne NustadMoorhead
2007Karen OkerlundFargo
2009Marilynn MoeFargo
2011Gloria BethkeGrand Forks
2013Darla SheldonPark River

*2004 MTNA Teacher of the Year


Service to the Profession Chair